Love at First Sight

Do you think love at first sight exists? I’ve never been in love. I love my family and friends, but I’ve never experienced romantic love. Therefore, I don’t have abundant knowledge on the subject. I think a parent’s love for their child can bloom at first sight. I don’t think romantic love at first sight exists.

I think lust at first sight exists. For example, I can lust over Bridget Regan, but I don’t love her. I don’t know her! I can’t love someone I don’t know. I can love her acting skills (seriously, go watch “Torn” from s2 of Legend of the Seeker), I can love a character she portrayed, I can love her looks, but without personally knowing her, I cannot love her in the deep, abiding, romantic way. Sure, I may hope good things happen. I may wish her a  happy personal life or I may be sad when she is not cast as Wonder Woman. Still, I believe knowing about someone’s character and intellect is imperative to love. Also, spending time with the person is needed. Therefore, I think romantic love builds over time; it can arise from lust at first sight, but they are not the same thing.

In The Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind, Richard essentially falls in love the first time he and Kahlan make eye contact,

“She stood straight and still, her arms at her side. Her eyebrows had the graceful arch of a raptor’s wings in flight. Her green eyes came unafraid to his. The connection was so intense that it threatened to drain his sense of self. He felt that he had always known her, that she had always been a part of him, that her needs were his needs. She held him with her gaze as surely as a grip of iron would, searching his eyes as if searching his soul, seeking an answer to something. I am here to help you, he said in his mind. He meant it more than any thought he had ever had.
The intensity of her gaze relaxed, loosening its hold on him. In her eyes he saw something that attracted him more than anything else. Intelligence. He saw it flaring there, burning in her, and through it all he felt an overriding sense of her integrity. Richard felt safe.”

Such an experience would be amazing, but I don’t think it is realistic.

Do you think romantic love at first sight exists?

In case you are either uninformed or silly, and don’t know why I would lust after Bridget Regan…

She is hauntingly beautiful
_
B eyes
Her gorgeous bright blue eyes
_
Her full, soft-looking hair (regardless of the current color, it is touchable)
_
Her legs
_
https://i1.wp.com/i630.photobucket.com/albums/uu26/kaymartxD/Decorated%20images/bridget_regan_0001.jpg
Does this one even need a caption?
_
B Cheekbones
Her cheek bones
_
B dorable
She is adorable! (and funny, if you watch Attack of the Show)
_
Her smile, any version, but I’m jealous of the first picture because I can’t pull off a closed-lips smile. Also, her perfect teeth!
_
Her complexion
_
candid
This looks suspiciously “real”, yet she is still amazing!
_
_
3 thoughts on “Love at First Sight

  1. I also believe lust at first sight exists. It is common, actually. However, I believe love at first sight exists as well. I’ve experienced it. Lust is a physical desire to have somebody. When I met my fiancé, my desire for him went immediately beyond physical. I felt as though I had always known him. I knew right from the start, what he liked, disliked, enjoyed….. From the very beginning, we were able to finish each other’s sentences, and know each other’s thoughts without any more than eye contact. I was not a believer of love at first sight until that moment. I never thought something so deep and so immediate could possibly be real. I can tell you, it’s a phenomenon that has to be experienced to be believed and one that can never be accurately described.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Would You Date a Celebrity? | Masochist Musing

Leave a Reply

