Would You Date a Celebrity?

This is random, but the question occurred to me because I’ve been very GIF-happy lately. As much as I talk about crushes on actors and actresses, if I saw someone IRL I’d never approach them.

For one, my biggest crush is married.

(Apparently she and Craig used to watch fanvids to get in the mood for their romantic scenes!)

Second, and seriously, I could not deal with the media attention. I have enough insecurities without strangers around the globe commenting on every flaw. It seems celebrities’ significant others and friends are often scrutinized as well. The idea gives me shivers. Third, I want kids and I am certain growing up surrounded by all that media pressure is unhealthy. Fourth, I’d never get a chance to know them as a person because I’d never attempt to converse with them if we ever met by chance. I bet it is awful to never be able to go to a Barnes and Noble and browse books for fun without people pestering you for pictures or trying to talk to you. It would suck! I wouldn’t want to contribute to that feeling.

In fact, part of the reason I write-off local actors/actresses as partners is because most of them have bigger aspirations. If they’re successful, the uber-fame would come. It is unfair to want your partner to be unsuccessful! Yet, no amount of money is worth the personal invasion.

On the other hand, I don’t feel too bad for current celebrities because they knew what they were getting in to. That sentiment does not apply to their kids. I feel sad for their children, they had no say about their parent’s identities.

One thought on “Would You Date a Celebrity?

  1. Pingback: Things I’d Rather Do than Go to Law School… | Masochist Musing

Leave a Reply

