Be Yourself is Stupid Advice

I wish minor things like my boss posting about her new daily runs and people congratulating her on each post didn’t bother me, but it does. It is just another reason to feel inadequate.

What kind of advice is be yourself when myself is a freak_Claudia_ Warehouse 13

I avoided unfollowing her on Facebook because I am interested in the other things she posts and if I stop commenting or *liking* her posts, I’m afraid she’ll think I don’t care. However, I finally gave in and unfollowed her. I couldn’t handle it when Ginny commented too, saying they should do the same running program. It was a daily reminder of how I’m not good enough because I don’t exercise, I’m fat, and I never get that number of comments or *likes* on my posts. That means people don’t care as much about me. I’m seriously considering making a status about my weight loss. *Please, please, please let this post be enough to stop that urge*

Why would I want to be myself when no one likes me?

 

4 thoughts on “Be Yourself is Stupid Advice

    • It did, thankfully! And yes, social media is a double edged sword. On one hand there is competition. On the other hand, it is easy to keep up with people, plan large events, and communicate. You have depression and axiety, is social media an issue for you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is not as bad as it was a few years ago. I don’t post a lot which has helped because then I don’t feel badly about likes.
        For me the triggers tend to be homes, kids and vacations. Knowing that helps me deal.
        Totally not therapist approved but I get petty: I’m yeah you have the worlds most adorable kid but I get to sleep in every weekend! Boo yeah Biatch! Yeah not super healthy but I think a better option than the previous “I’m going to die alone because even if I did have a child I’d probably screw them up so bad they’ll never come visit.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

