Don’t Know HOW to Talk

WHAT IS NORMAL CONVERSATION?!? Is ANY of the following socially acceptable? The red text is my own additional thoughts. I wouldn’t send anything in red.

This is what I want to send to Ginny:

Barb made me laugh this afternoon. I don’t want her to leave.

 
Is Wednesday lunch still a thing? Are still we friends? Where we ever friends? Or am I just a pitiable bur on your skin? Would you care if I was no longer in your life? Most of the people we see daily won’t be a fixture in our life 10 years from now. Am I a passing ornament or do you like me as a human being? Would something be missing from your life if I was not in it. Or am I not supposed to ask stuff like that? I’m probably not supposed to ask things like that. I am confused. I’d greatly appreciate it if you’d bear with me through the ensuing awkwardness. But if you don’t want to, can you tell me so I stop trying?
Elizabeth (my boss) and Danielle (the new BCBA) are mad at me (because I talked about disapproving of Danielle’s behavior plan for John to other people). I don’t know how to address it. I’m planning on going with: pretend things are normal, until they feel normal again. I’m worried I hurt Danielle, but I don’t want to make things worse by talking. I have a tendency to do that.
 
I don’t even really want the job (Barb is FINALLY leaving. My boss is just giving me her position, bur I have less than 3 weeks notice and I don’t even know what my boss wants me to teach! Actually, now I know she wants me to teach Science and History. That takes a lot of planning.). It scares me too much. I don’t think I will be good at it and I don’t want the extra work. I thought I should take it so I can be one rung less separated from the people I eat lunch with. I am the only BA in the conference room now. I know others take it badly that I eat lunch on Wednesdays with you, Elizabeth (my boss), Danielle (the new BCBA), Iris (the O.T. therapist), and Claire (the BCaBA).
7 thoughts on “Don’t Know HOW to Talk

  1. It’s not showing up in color for me. Have you sent it already?

    If not, how about something a bit more casual:
    I love our chats and will miss our Wednesday lunches. Up for keeping the tradition?

    Or and this is pretty close to what I said to a friend who moved:
    I’m going to miss seeing you every day. Want to set a coffee date?

    Then try to make it monthly or weekly. My friend and I don’t make it often but when we catch up it’s always good.

    As I’m missing the colour switching I may be responding to the wrong bit.

    Also good job on the promotion! I know it’s stressful but it’s definitely a pat on the back

    Like

Leave a Reply

